Board of Directors

Dale BrittDale Britt

President – Member Since 2011
Although Dale has plenty to keep him busy onshore, his most enjoyable work is at the helm of Jarrett Bay Hull #1, the charter fishing boat Sensation. Dale is proud to give back to his Crystal Coast community and is honored to be a part of the Big Rock Board.

Joy BellJoy Bell

Vice President – Member Since 1992
Joy Bell has given hours and hours of free time as the Big Rock accountant with special attention during Big Rock Tournament week. An enthusiastic lady angler, Joy was awarded the 2000 Lady Angler Award from the North Carolina Governor’s Cup Billfish Conservation Series. Joy practices public accounting in the firm of RSM McGladrey.

Mike ThompsonMike Thompson

Treasurer – Vice-President, Big Rock Foundation – Member Since 2006
Mike, a former charter boat captain, and avid waterman, first began his association with the Big Rock tissue sampling for mercury/selenium content at Duke Marine Lab in 1974. Mike owns and manages Multi-Services Inc., a telecommunication and financial services firm. Mike and his wife Connie live on Harkers Island.

Richard CroweRichard Crowe

Secretary – Member Since 1991
Richard, an avid fisherman, has served on the board of directors since 1999. He has fished the Big Rock since 1976 and maintains a residence in 8-1/2 Marina Village here in Carteret County. Richard is President of Delta Equipment Enterprises, Inc.

Jim BaileyJim Bailey

Past President 1997-1999 – Member Since 1992
Jim championed the effort to make Big Rock Landing a reality. Jim currently owns and operates the Anchorage Marina in Atlantic Beach.

Howard BasnightHoward Basnight

Member Since 1991
Experienced captain and Rules Committee member, Howard brings good advice to the table. His historical catch of a 1002 lb. “Grander” blue marlin August 12, 1989, will keep him in the record books for years to come.

Tommy BennettTommy Bennett

Past President 2007-2009 – Treasurer, Big Rock Foundation – Member Since 1987
A native of Morehead City and member of the board since 1987, Tom serves the Big Rock with his over 21 years of experience in the tourism industry and community leadership. Having held all the elected positions in the tournament gives Tom an added level of understanding of all that the Big Rock does throughout the year. An avid fisherman, Tom particularly enjoys flyfishing for everything from tailing red drum to sailfish.

Les CollinsLes Collins

Member Since 2015
Les has worked over 33 years in the outboard boating industry as President and owner of Collins Inc. in Smithfield, North Carolina. An Eagle Scout and avid waterman, Les spends countless hours boating, fishing, and hunting in eastern North Carolina. Les has maintained a residence at 8 ½ Marina since 2002.

Roger CroweRoger Crowe

Past President 1999-2001, 2014-15 – Secretary, Big Rock Foundation – Member Since 1991
Roger Crowe, Attorney at Law, provides legal support and sound advice to the Big Rock Board during the tournament and throughout the year.

Dew ForbesDew Forbes

Past President 1993-1995 – Member Since 1990
As a previous charter boat captain, Dew provides valuable input as Rules Committee chairman during the tournament week and throughout the year. He is Vice President of Jarrett Bay Boatworks in Beaufort. Dew is married to Valorie who manages The Boathouse in Beaufort.

Emery IveyEmery Ivey

Member Since 2016
Real Estate developer and agribusinessman, Emery Ivey, joins the Big Rock Board of Directors for the fall of 2016. Owner and Captain of the “Mollie Whopper”, Emery brings a fresh perspective to the inner workings of the Board.

Jack JordanJack Jordan

Past President 2005-2007 – President, Big Rock Foundation – Member Since 1998
Executive Vice President of Jordan Lumber & Supply, Inc. in Mt Gilead, North Carolina maintaining a local residence at 8-1/2 Marina Village for the last 19 years, Jack has served on the Big Rock board since 1998.

Billy KornegayBilly Kornegay

Past President 2015-2017, 2001-2003 – Member Since 1984
Billy supports the board in many areas including having run the committee boat from 1986 to 1998, WOW! Billy fished the Big Rock aboard the Sugar Bear beginning in 1972 and has served on the board of directors since 1982.

Carol LohrCarol Lohr

Member Since 1998
Carol donates her time on many boards throughout the county and is a ready volunteer for any worthy cause. Her enjoyment of sportfishing and love of the county provide informed advice. Carol is Executive Director of the Carteret County Tourism Development Authority.

Caroline PetrilliCaroline Petrilli

Member Since 2016
Caroline grew up in Carteret County with a love of sports fishing. In 2014, she was awarded Top Female Angler in the North Carolina Governors Cup. She is now CPA at RSM in Morehead City and is excited to be a new member of the Board.

Randy RamseyRandy Ramsey

Past President 2003-2005, 2009-2011 – Member Since 1987
Randy is the Founder and President of Jarrett Bay Boatworks. He has been involved in almost every aspect of the boating and fishing industries throughout his life including running a charter fishing operation, marine surveying, building boats and now running one of the worlds leading custom boat manufacturing and service facilities. Randy has served on the Big Rock Board for 30 years and is a long-time asset to the board. He lives in Carteret County with his wife Tiffany and has one son, Alan.

Curtis StrangeCurtis Strange

Member Since 2004
Curtis brings extensive knowledge, experience and depth of insight in marketing, promotion and event management. Curtis has been a member of the board since the fall of 2004 and makes Morehead City his full-time residence with his wife Sarah. His extensive accomplishments include being a two-time US Open Champion, three-time Player of the Year and in 2007 Curtis was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Casey WagnerCasey Wagner

Past President 1988-1992, 2012-2013 – Member Since 1985
A Morehead City native and avid sports fisherman, Casey Wagner has fished in every Big Rock Tournament since 1973 and has served on the board of directors since 1985. Casey will be fishing the 61st Annual Big Rock on his boat Inspiration. He is the owner of Coldwell Banker Real Estate Company in Atlantic Beach.

Crystal HesmerCrystal Hesmer

Executive Director – director@thebigrock.com

Rowanne RobertsonRowanne Robertson

Tournament Assistant – rowanne@thebigrock.com

Teresa HolcomeTeresa Holcombe

Retail & Events Manager – teresa@thebigrock.com

Madison MaxwellMadison Maxwell

KWLA Director – madison@thebigrock.com

Chuck RhodesChuck Rhodes

Director Emeritus

Ben MooreBen Moore

Director Emeritus

Lonnie PooleLonnie Poole

Director Emeritus